All Work and No Play

I apologize for another re-post but I think this one warrants repeating…

What Kids Want Us to Know

Sad to say, summer is winding down. I hope there has been plenty of time for all the kids on summer break to sleep late, read books of their own choosing, bike, read Tiger Beat and Sports Illustrated, swim, skateboard, wakeboard, draw, knit, play video games, fish, water ski, hike, surf, surf the internet, throw a frisbee, play catch, catch fireflies, chat on Facebook, make mud pies, play golf, play tennis, shoot hoops, frolic in the sprinklers, watch sitcoms, watch movies, watch the Olympics, jog, go geocaching, make ice cream, have water balloon fights, drive by that special someone’s house over and over, etc. I could go on. Believe me, I could go on. Notice that I didn’t mention reading The Crucible or Great Expectations (not that there’s anything wrong with that); reviewing Spanish, Latin, French, Mandarin, or Greek (not that there’s anything wrong with that); completing math packets (not…

View original post 971 more words

About Dr. Sayers

I am a child psychologist and mother of two. This blog is about the lessons we, as parents, can learn about parenting from the things that child clients have told me over my 20 years in private practice. I continue to work with children and families at Southampton Psychiatric Associates (www.southamptonpsychiatric.com) which serves Bucks, eastern Montgomery, and northeast Philadelphia counties in Pennsylvania. In addition, I train psychology graduate students and psychiatry residents at Temple University.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

