Nominated for a Liebster Award!!!

The good news is that I have been nominated by a fellow blogger for a Liebster Award. The bad news is that I’m not really sure I understand what it means or what I am supposed to do. (The other bad news is that the Liebster is far less lucrative than the Pulitzer or Nobel.) The blogger who nominated me (Thank you, Amy Robinson, writer of Mom on Purpose!) speculates that the award is a way to spread a little blog love. Sounds good to me. To accept the Liebster, I have to do 3 things. First, I have to answer 5 questions posed by Amy. Then, I have to nominate 5 blogs I really like for the award, and those 5 blogs should have under 200 followers. Finally, I have to pose 5 questions for my nominees to answer.

Easy part first. Here are the answers Amy posed and my responses:

1 – Would you rather have a life of extreme highs and lows (great success, bliss, and joy, accompanied by great challenge, grief and despair) or an even-keel life with neither of the extremes? As you can probably tell from my blog entries, I like things smooth and steady. I would miss the highs and the less extreme of the challenges, but I find great contentment in simplicity and quiet. Plus, I am a psychologist so the question makes me think of Bipolar Disorder (formerly known as Manic-Depression). I have witnessed up close the suffering of individuals who deal with extremes of moods. I will take even-keeled any day!

2 – Why did you start blogging? I share this story in my introductory post. I gave a parenting workshop based on the quotes of my young clients, and several people approached me to encourage me to write a book. I love to write but have no time for a book at this busy stage of my life, so WKWUTK was born. An unexpected benefit is that writing the blog forces me to reflect on my own parenting which is always a good practice. Just this week, while my daughter studied for her first ever high school midterms, I reread my post All Work and No Play and found it to be a very grounding reminder of what I know to be good parenting practices.

3 – If you could change one thing in the world, what would it be? Now, that’s a tough one. It sounds a little cheesy to say “world peace.” Still, nothing tears at my soul more than discrimination and inequitable distribution of resources. So, if I could change one (ENORMOUS!) thing, it would be to make the world a place where all individuals, regardless of race, creed, gender, class, sexual orientation, religion, political thought, ethnicity, gender identity, etc. enjoyed equal rights, equal protection under the law, and equal access to education, health care, etc. I sure hope I didn’t forget anyone!

4 – What has been your biggest challenge to overcome? This is an easy one to identify, but a tough one to write about. In short, I wanted more than anything else to be a mother, and my husband and I couldn’t conceive. Five years of infertility treatment and two adoptions later, I could not be happier with my beautiful family.

5 – If you could form an imaginary “council” to guide you in your life, what five people would you choose to have on it? (they could be alive or dead, fictional or real, famous or not) Assuming that I already have my parents and my husband in my life, I would choose, in no particular order:

  1. Atticus Finch – this goes without explanation.
  2. Jethro Gibbs (from the television show NCIS) – Gibbs has a way of boiling tough dilemmas down to their essence. He makes tough choices simple by clearing out the gray.
  3. Ruth – a dear friend and colleague who possesses the priceless combination of experience, goodness, and level-headedness. She is a great mom a little further along in the adventure of parenting, who is happy to share her wisdom with me when I am facing a parenting challenge. She has talked me off a ledge or two.
  4. Rich – a friend and colleague who is among the most intelligent and articulate people I know. He is known for saying, about challenging conversations, “lean in” and “keep it complex” – just the kind of person you need when seeking wise council and a good counterpart for Gibbs.
  5. Carol – a dear friend who also possesses great wisdom and depth and who can always add a bit of humor to the tough moments of life.

Now, for my nominees, in no particular order. I have no idea how many followers some of these bloggers have because that information is not available for every blog. (Nominees, please don’t be offended if you have a gagillion followers!)

1. WritingNurture: Work, Balance, Sanity.

2. StarStolenWritings

3. Lisen’s “Blog”: An Angle of PrismWork

4. A Mom Inspired: Life. Love. The Messy Truth

5. Confessions of a Professional Mom

I like these bloggers for various reasons. Let’s just say that at any given time, these writers have posted something that spoke to me, that made me laugh, that caused my head to nod, that challenged me, that I needed to read, or that brought me comfort. Thanks, folks! Now, here are your questions to answer:

1. Assuming you are a reader as well as a writer, name two of your favorite protagonists, one male and one female.

2. What has been the (or one of the) most rewarding experience related to writing your blog?

3. What is your favorite post in your own blog (or post that makes you proudest)?

4. What are some things you do besides blogging?

5. If you had to give an acceptance speech for the Liebster award in front of a live audience, who would you thank and what would you wear?

Can’t wait to read your responses and to see what blogs you enjoy. Thanks again to Amy and to all my nominees. STAY CALM and BLOG!

About Dr. Sayers

I am a child psychologist and mother of two. This blog is about the lessons we, as parents, can learn about parenting from the things that child clients have told me over my 20 years in private practice. I continue to work with children and families at Southampton Psychiatric Associates (www.southamptonpsychiatric.com) which serves Bucks, eastern Montgomery, and northeast Philadelphia counties in Pennsylvania. In addition, I train psychology graduate students and psychiatry residents at Temple University.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Nominated for a Liebster Award!!!

  1. lisens says:

    Dr. Sayers,
    Thanks for the award and the kind words. I am honored. Pondering the provocative questions. Answers to follow.
    Thanks for reading and for the award.
    Warmly,
    Lisen
    P.S. Yes, of course, Atticus.

  2. Amy Robinson says:

    Thanks for “playing”! I don’t know where I came across your blog, but as another busy, working mom, I have enjoyed your thoughts so far. Only one of a few blogs I have in my reader. (:

  3. Helen W. Mallon says:

    Thank you, Margaret! I had fun with the answers, and I hope to lead some folks to your blog. Things with us are going great. We miss you!

    • Dr. Sayers says:

      I look forward to reading your responses. And, by the way, I am slogging through NW by Zadie Smith. In my book (pardon the pun), she should have the Helen Mallon blues!

      • Helen W. Mallon says:

        What a compliment. I’ll take it! Thanks again for the award, and here’s to more readers for all of us.

  4. Pingback: Spreading Blog Love | Lisen's "Blog" – An Angle of PrismWork

Leave a Reply

